News & Noteworthy

LITA/Library Hi Tech award nominations sought

Nominations are being accepted for the 2011 LITA/Library Hi Tech Award, which is given each year to an individual or institution for outstanding achievement in communication for continuing education in library and information technology. Sponsored by the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), and Library Hi Tech, the award includes a citation of merit and a $1,000 stipend provided by Emerald Press, publishers of Library Hi Tech. The deadline for nominations is Dec. 1, 2010.

The award, given to either an individual or an institution, may recognize a single seminal work or a body of work created during or continuing into the five years immediately preceding the award year. The body of work need not be limited to published texts, but can include course plans or actual courses and/or non-print publications such as visual media. More information and a list of previous winners can be found on the LITA web site.

Currently serving officers and elected officials of LITA, members of the LITA/Library Hi Tech Award Committee, and employees and their immediate family of Emerald Press are ineligible.

Nominations must include the name(s) of the recipient(s), basis for nomination, and references to the body of work and should be sent to mitcheet (at) Electronic submissions are preferred, but print submissions may be sent to:

Erik Mitchell
Reynolds Library
PO Box 7777
Wake Forest University
Winston Salem, NC 27106
Erik Mitchell
106 Evergreen Drive
Winston Salem, NC 27106-4918

The award will be presented at the LITA President’s Program during the 2011 Annual Conference of the American Library Association in New Orleans.

Contact: Mary Taylor, LITA
mtaylor (at)