News & Noteworthy

Kilgour Award recipient named

LITA is pleased to announce G Sayeed Choudhury as the 2012 winner of the  Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology.  The award, which is jointly sponsored by OCLC, is given for research relevant to the development of information technologies, especially work which shows promise of having a positive and substantive impact on any aspect(s) of the publication, storage, retrieval and dissemination of information, or the processes by which information and data is manipulated and managed.   The awardee receives $2,000, a citation, and, travel expenses to the ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, California, where the award will be presented on June 24th.

Mr. Choudhury was especially recognized by the award jury for his leadership in the field of data curation through the National Science Foundation supported Data Conservancy project, which expands the capabilities of research libraries in serving researchers and the institutions of which they are a part, and for his ongoing impact on the field of librarianship in applying the principles of librarianship to the curation and preservation of digital data.

In hearing of the award, Charles Henry, President of the Council on Library and Information Resources, said:  “I am delighted that Sayeed Choudhury has been selected to receive the Kilgour award. Sayeed has long been recognized for his astute and tireless leadership in support of library and information technology. He has been a source of acumen and illumination on topics such as data curation, digital architecture, and digital library innovation. His contributions transcend disciplinary boundaries: he is recognized and respected by communities as diverse as Medieval Studies and Astronomy, a rare and compelling achievement. I cannot think of a more appropriate recipient of the prestigious Kilgour award.”

Mr. Choudhury is the Associate Dean for Research Data Management and Hodson Director of the Digital Research and Curation Center at the Sheridan Libraries of Johns Hopkins University. He is also the Director of Operations for the Institute of Data Intensive Engineering and Science (IDIES) based at Johns Hopkins. He is a member of the National Academies Board on Research Data and Information, the ICPSR Council, DuraSpace Board, and a Senior Presidential Fellow with the Council on Library and Information Resources. Choudhury has BSE and MSE degrees in Civil Engineering and doctoral coursework in Geography and Environmental Engineering.

Choudhury has served as principal investigator for projects funded through the National Science Foundation, Institute of Museum and Library Services, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and Microsoft Research. He is the Principal Investigator for the Data Conservancy, one of the awards through NSF’s DataNet program.  Notified of the award, Mr Choudhury said:  “I am deeply honored by this award.  I have been very fortunate throughout my career to work with exceptional colleagues within the Sheridan Libraries and throughout the Libraries within Johns Hopkins University.  Additionally, I’ve had the pleasure and benefit of working with colleagues throughout our entire community so I hope they share this recognition with me.  I look forward to more opportunities to collaborate and advance the important work that lies ahead for libraries.”

Members of the 2012 Frederick G.  Kilgour Award committee are: Nancy Roderer, Johns Hopkins University (chair). Michael Witt, Purdue University (past chair);  Jason Battles, The University of Alabama; Cecilia Schmitz, Auburn University; David King, LITA board liaison; and Roy Tennant, OCLC liaison.